How Kirpal singh died in Pak jail?

image

In Pakistan jail since ’92, Kirpal
Singh longed for home; family
now waits for his body
His family received Singh’s last letter on February
10. “I want to return to my motherland before I
die… I have been facing a difficult time here,” he
said in his letter.

OVER THE last two decades, he wrote many
letters to his family in Mustafabad Saidan village
of Gurdaspur district, all saying the same thing —
that he wanted to return to India before he died.
But that was not be. Kirpal Singh, 54, arrested in
Pakistan on spying charges in 1992, died at the
Kot Lakhpat Jail in Lahore on Monday.
His family received Singh’s last letter on February
10. “I want to return to my motherland before I
die… I have been facing a difficult time here,” he
said in his letter.
“He said he was well, and asked us to plead
before the Indian government to get him
released,” said Singh’s sister, Jagiro Kaur, adding
that they have been fighting for his release. “I got
a call from a journalist on Monday night,
informing me that he had died in jail. I contacted
some officials in Pakistan, who told me that he
had suffered a cardiac arrest,” said Ashwini
Kumar, Singh’s nephew.
“Kirpal Singh was found dead in his cell in the
early hours of Monday,” said an official of Kot
Lakhpat Jail, according to a PTI report from
Lahore. “The inmates of the cell near Kirpal’s cell
stated that he complained about pain in his chest
and died instantly,” he said.

India has asked its envoy in Pakistan to
take up at the “highest possible level” with
their foreign office the issue of early
transportation of mortal remains of Kirpal
Singh.
R.I.P great soul

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

